clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ronnie Brewer Not In Slam Dunk Contest

Not that I had any reason to believe that Ronnie B would actually get an invite or anything.

Here are your Slam Dunk participants this year,

2009 Sprite Slam Dunk champion Nate Robinson of the New York Knicks will attempt to become the first three-time winner of the competition when he defends his title on NBA All-Star Saturday Night, Feb. 13, at American Airlines Center (8 p.m. ET on TNT) in Dallas. Robinson will compete against the Charlotte Bobcats' Gerald Wallace and the Los Angeles Lakers' Shannon Brown.

The 2010 Sprite Slam Dunk participants were unveiled today at a special event at New York's Pennsylvania Station, where artist Dan Dunn brought each player's image to life in a speed painting display on giant canvases.

The Toronto Raptors' DeMar DeRozan and the Los Angeles Clippers' Eric Gordon will compete in the NBA All-Star Slam Dunk-In, a single-round slam dunk competition that will be held at halftime of the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam on Friday, Feb. 12. Fans will be able to vote via SMS text message and at to determine who will advance to the Sprite Slam Dunk the following night.

I hope they get away from  the gimmicky stuff and get back to creative dunks.  I wouldn't mind them getting rid of non-human props all together.

Maybe we should have a Ronnie B campaign to get him into the dunk contest?